Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWI) is strictly prohibited everywhere in the United States. If you get pulled over and arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), it is important that you understand the Arkansas laws, processes, and punishments surrounding the offense. This can help you make empowered decisions as you move forward.
It is important to remember that an arrest is not a conviction. Breathalyzer and field sobriety tests are not always accurate, and police officers can make mistakes. There is still hope if you have been arrested for an Arkansas DWI, and you do not necessarily need to plead guilty.
With the help of a DWI attorney, you can navigate your DWI case and give yourself the best possible chance of having your charges dropped. Our team of highly skilled attorneys at Kevin Lemley Law Partners offer experienced criminal defense legal counsel for your DUI or DWI charges.
With over 50 years of combined experience, our team of DWI attorneys provides top-notch legal care for the families of Little Rock. We understand that most criminal defense cases, including DUIs, are instances of misunderstanding, misrepresentation, or simple mistakes. We firmly believe that everyone is entitled to strong legal counsel. We are proud to provide that for our community.
Regardless of your situation, you can trust that we will fight tenaciously for your rights. We will not rest until we have done everything, we can preserve your freedom, reputation, and future. You can trust us with this difficult situation because we are experienced and truly care about our clients. No other law firm in the area has the same unique combination of experience and passion that our firm has.
Kevin Lemley Law Partners is your best choice for DUI and DWI defense in Little Rock, Arkansas.
A DWI, or driving under the influence, is a criminal offense in which a driver operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. There is a “no-tolerance” law for drivers under the age of 21, which states that any blood alcohol content over .02% is considered a DUI. You may also be charged with a DWI if you are caught driving while under the influence of drugs of any kind and in any amount.
DWI arrests occur when a police officer performs a traffic stop and discovers the driver to be intoxicated. The officer confirms the driver’s intoxication through breathalyzer and field sobriety tests. If these tests show that the driver is intoxicated, they will be arrested.
There are many consequences to a DWI offense in Arkansas. The punishments that you receive will depend upon your unique situation and the severity of your actions, as well as your history with DWIs. The more DWIs you accumulate, the worse your punishment will be.
For a first-time DWI offense, offenders can expect:
A second DWI offense in 10 years results in:
A third DWI in 10 years warrants:
If you have four or more DWI offenses within 10 years, or if you kill or seriously harm someone while driving under the influence, you will be charged with a felony DWI rather than a misdemeanor. Felonies carry much more weight and can prevent you from getting a job, finding proper housing, or voting.
Potential penalties for a felony DWI include:
Depending on your situation, you may be able to achieve alternative sentencing. However, if you wish to reduce your time in jail or prison, reduce your fees, or otherwise minimize your punishments, you need the assistance of a trained DWI attorney.
If you are navigating a DUI or DWI arrest, it is important to do everything in your power to avoid a charge. DWI charges, especially felony charges, can have a significant impact on your life. The driver’s license suspension can make it difficult to get to work and school, while fines and jail time can impede your lifestyle. Furthermore, having a DWI on your record can prevent you from getting a house, line of credit, job, or other necessities.
When you use a DWI attorney from Kevin Lemley Law Partners, you give yourself the best chance of avoiding these severe consequences. With an attorney, you have the possibility of telling your story and avoiding charges altogether. This preserves your lifestyle, family, and future.
Because a DWI is a criminal offense, the only way that the charges can be dropped is if the state prosecutor decides to do so. These individuals will only dismiss charges if there is clear evidence that you are not guilty of the crime that they have accused you of. The best way to provide this evidence is with an experienced attorney.
State prosecutors are very strict and do not have a lot of leeway surrounding their power to drop charges. It is rare that DWI charges get dismissed entirely.
Our team is here to help you navigate your Little Rock DUI or DWI case. For more information, or to schedule a consultation following an arrest, contact Kevin Lemley Law Partners today