Searcy Sex Crime Lawyer

Home
/
Searcy Sex Crime Lawyer
Best Searcy Sex Crime Lawyer

Searcy Sex Crime Attorney

Sex crimes are arguably some of the most serious crimes a person can commit. They carry long prison sentences, fines, and mandatory registration on the sex offender registry. Being charged with a sex crime can have very serious legal implications, not to mention greatly affect your personal and professional life if you are convicted. A Searcy sex crime lawyer can help you develop a strong defense and work diligently on your case.

Why Kevin Lemley Law Partners Is Right for You

At Kevin Lemley Law Partners, we are dedicated to our clients, and our firm is results-driven. With five decades of combined experience, we have gotten cases dismissed and charges reduced for several of our clients. We lead with compassion and open communication, giving each case we take the time and attention they deserve.

Understanding Sex Crime Charges in Arkansas

According to Arkansas laws, a sex crime is classified as any offense that arises due to:

  • A sexual encounter involving violence
  • A lack of consent from one of the people involved,
  • One person is legally unable to give their consent to the encounter

Typically, when a person is charged with a sex crime, they receive a felony charge. Sometimes, a misdemeanor charge is given, depending on the severity of the offense.

When someone is arrested for a sex crime, usually it is because someone told authorities that a person committed a sexual offense, even if they are innocent. Anyone convicted of a sex crime is required to register as a sex offender in the state after completing their sentence. This includes registering your address, car, phone number, and social media presence, along with updating this information if any of it changes. People who do not register or report any changes to this information can be charged with a felony.

Felony Sex Crimes and Penalties

Arkansas law has established the definition of a variety of felony sex crimes, along with the sentences for each. These include:

Class Y Felony

In Arkansas, these are the most serious crimes that do not carry a death sentence. Someone who is convicted of a Class Y felony can receive between 10 and 40 years of imprisonment to life. Sex crimes classified as Class Y include rape and statutory rape.

Class A Felony

Being convicted of a Class A felony means facing the possibility of six to 30 years in prison, with the addition of a fine of up to $15,000. Class A felony sex crimes include first-degree sexual assault.

Class B Felony

These charges carry a prison sentence of five to 20 years and a fine of up to $15,000. Class B felony sex crimes include sexual extortion and second-degree sexual assault, except in specific cases when it is a Class D felony.

Class C Felony

Class C felonies are punishable by three to 10 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines. Class C offenses include sex crimes such as third-degree sexual assault and indecent exposure if it is the sixth or subsequent conviction within 10 years.

Class D Felony

These felonies carry the least severe punishments of no more than six years imprisonment and no more than $10,000 in fines. Sex crimes that are Class D felonies include:

  • Sexual indecency with a child
  • Second-degree sexual assault when the offender is a minor and the victim is younger than 14
  • Fourth-degree sexual assault, except in specific cases when it is a Class A misdemeanor
  • Indecent exposure if it is the fourth or fifth offense in 10 years or if the offender is in police custody

In any of these felony cases, it is a huge benefit to have an experienced and skilled lawyer defend you. They can review your case and find ways to get an outcome that is in your favor.

Misdemeanor Sex Crimes and Penalties

Arkansas has also established definitions and penalties for misdemeanor sex crimes, which are less severe than felonies. These include:

Class A Misdemeanor

These can result in up to 90 days of imprisonment and no more than $1,000 in fines. Sex crimes that are Class A misdemeanors include:

  • Fourth-degree sexual assault if the offender only engages in sexual contact with a person who is less than 16 years old
  • Public sexual indecency
  • Indecent exposure
  • Prostitution if it is the second or subsequent conviction

Class B Misdemeanor

A conviction results in up to one year of imprisonment and no more than $2,500 in fines. Prostitution, if it is the first offense, is considered a Class B Misdemeanor.

FAQs

Q: What Should I Do If I Am Accused of a Sex Crime?

A: If you are accused of a sex crime in Searcy, AR, one of the first things you should do is get in touch with an attorney. This is very important if you are called in for questioning by the authorities. Until you get an attorney, you should exercise your right to remain silent. One thing you should not do, even if you want to, is contact your accuser. This could hurt your case, and whatever you say to them can be used against you.

Q: Why Is It So Hard to Prosecute Sex Crimes?

A: Some sex crimes are hard to prosecute for several reasons, including:

  • Victims may not report the offense because they are often afraid to come forward or don’t feel comfortable doing so.
  • A lack of physical evidence can make it somewhat difficult to prove that someone is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
  • There is often a lack of witnesses, as many sex crimes take place when others are not around to see them.

Q: Why Are Sex Crimes Treated Differently?

A: Simply put, sex crimes are treated differently from other crimes because sex, in general, is treated differently than any other human behavior. Sexual assault is considered worse than nonsexual assault, just as an unwanted sexual “compliment” is considered worse than an insult that is nonsexual. Because of this image of sex in our society, sex crimes are treated as some of the worst, if not the worst, crimes.

Q: How Long Does Someone Stay on the Sex Offender Registry?

A: How long someone stays on the sex offender registry depends on the sexual offense they committed. An offender may be able to apply to terminate their registration 15 years after registering if:

  1. They have not been convicted of any other sexual offenses since then.
  2. They are not seen as a threat to the public.

If you have committed more than one offense or are classified as a sexually violent predator in the state, you may remain on the sex offender registry for the rest of your life.

Schedule a Consultation With a Searcy Sex Crime Lawyer

If you have been accused of a sex crime in the Searcy area, contact Kevin Lemley Law Partners as soon as possible. These are serious accusations that can change your life and image forever, following you everywhere you go. Our team can help you protect and fight for your rights.

Contact Us

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Reviews